Crows Zero

crows-zero-2-image-10

Takashi Miike’s Crows Zero was my main inspiration for writing Dodgeball High. It’s about a high school that doesn’t seem to have classes. Instead, the students use martial arts to beat each other up in order to become the top ranked fighter in school and take control over it. I don’t remember ever seeing a teacher in the movie, which was kind of confusing.

Well, Dodgeball High is different because the students actually go to classes, and all the classes are devoted to playing dodgeball.

I recently saw Crows Explode, which is the third movie in the series and pretty cool. Miike also directed the first sequel. Toshiaki Toyoda did the second one. He also directed Blue Spring, which is a fantastic movie and sort of similar to Crows Zero, except it’s pure drama rather than action.

After I came up with the concept for Dodgeball High, I also found out about the novel Kung Fu High School, whose title inspired “Dodgeball High,” although it was originally just a working title. My editor, Cameron Pierce, talked me into using it.

Anyways, Kung Fu High School is a great book and its similar to Crows Zero. I think it’s supposed to be a YA book, but it’s brutal. One blurb even compares it to American Psycho. The author sold the movie rights and I hope it becomes a movie. If they do it right, it will be better than Crows Zero.

About Bradley Sands

I am the author of Dodgeball High, Rico Slade Will Fucking Kill You, Sorry I Ruined Your Orgy, and others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment