Ooontz ooontz ooontz

SkinnyPuppy_2014_Tourdates

I got completely obsessed with industrial music when I was a freshman in high school. I first started listening to Nine Inch Nails and Ministry. This led me to Wax Trax! Records’ box set anthology, Black Box. It was only available on CD and I didn’t have a CD player, so I bought one for this purpose.

Before I got into industrial music, I listened exclusively to rap. Both angry (at least most of the rap music that I listened to), both usually not having much to do with rock. It seemed like industrial was an obvious musical path for a white teenager who’s into rap to take in the nineties if they were interested in getting into underground music.

My favorite bands ended up being Leæther Strip and Mentallo and the Fixer, who I saw perform a couple of times at the Bat Cave in New York City. But now I haven’t been that interested in industrial a long time. I occasionally listen to my old favorite albums, but I’ve heard them so many times that they sometimes bore me. I’m also no longer an angsty teen, so I rarely listen to angry music. And I’ve mostly been unable to find any modern industrial bands that are interesting. It sounds like the genre hasn’t advanced since the nineties and the newer bands are retreading the same territory, but not doing as good a job as the old bands. Youth Code is pretty much the one band that I like, but they aren’t fantastic, although they have the potential to be great in the future.

About Bradley Sands

I am the author of Dodgeball High, Rico Slade Will Fucking Kill You, Sorry I Ruined Your Orgy, and others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

